Prayer Time

Exclusive: UK: Muslim MPs prominent in Labour resurgence

6/12/2017 12:00:00 AM   |      |   

 he number of Muslim MPs elected to Parliament has risen to another record of 15, boosted by the sudden and unexpected resurgence in support for Labour under the leadership of Jeremy Corbyn.

The rise saw an average increase of more than 6 per cent in votes for each of the successful candidates, which included 12 of the previous 13 incumbents being returned as well as three new faces winning for the first time.

The high turnout included 12 Muslim Labour MPs being elected, up from nine in 2015. All three Muslim Conservatives retained their seats also with increased majorities as well.

Hopes that the Liberal Democrats would succeed in having their first Muslim MP elected failed to materialise, while north of the border in Scotland, the only Muslim MP, Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh, lost her seat amid significant collapse in support for the SNP.


Afzal Khan* (Labour) – Manchester Gorton
Faisal Rashid* (Labour) – Warrington South
Imran Hussain (Labour) – Bradford East
Khalid Mahmood (Labour) – Birmingham Perry Barr
Mohammad Yasin* (Labour) – Bedford
Naz Shah (Labour) – Bradford West
Nusrat Ghani (Conservative) – Wealden
Rehman Chishti (Conservative) – Gillingham & Rainham
Rosena Allin-Khan (Labour) – Tooting
Rupa Huq (Labour) – Ealing Central & Acton
Rushanara Ali (Labour) – Bethnal Green and Bow
Sajid Javid (Conservative) – Bromsgrove
Shabana Mahmood (Labour) – Birmingham Ladywood
Tulip Siddiq (Labour) – Hampstead & Kilburn
Yasmin Qureshi (Labour) – Bolton South East.



© 2015 - 2016 All rights reserved Islam Message